I first saw Pony-O Hair Accessories in an advertisement on Instagram. Of course, I clicked on it! I don’t usually pay attention to ads, but I was very intrigued. I didn’t think I’d actually end up ordering the product, but I did! So here’s my review of Pony-O Hair Accessories…and I didn’t get paid for it!

Since my hair has gotten REALLY long(like ridiculously long), I’ve noticed that my ponytail kinda sucks. At first I thought my hair was thinner or I needed to change up my shampoo and conditioner. I even tried different hair ties as well as using two hair ties at once. Nothing worked…so I came to terms with the fact that wearing a ponytail would be a casual thing from now on.

The crazy part is that less than a year ago my ponytails usually looked pretty awesome. I could make a ponytail look appropriate for work or a more dressy event. Those few extra inches of hair had ruined one of my favorite looks! One option was to cut my hair, because that would solve my ponytail problem. I’m definitely not doing that…not anytime soon.

So, I checked out the Pony-O Hair Accessories website. They had great reviews and I felt like it was probably a really good product that works. The next day I caved and placed an order! I’m an Amazon junkie, so ordering something from an actual product website was weird for me.

I usually end up searching for what I want on Amazon and ordering a comparable product if the exact brand I want isn’t available(because nothing beats Amazon Prime’s 2 day shipping). I was out of luck this time, but I’m glad I ordered it anyways!

I placed my order on January 5th, and to my surprise it arrived early just 5 days later! Their e-mail promised that I would receive the product within 7-14 days…so I’m happy with that(even if it isn’t 2).




pony-o

Confirmation e-mail from Pony-O Hair Accessories

pony-o-hair-tie

Shipping confirmation e-mail from Pony-O (2 days before arrival).


Choosing which Pony-O Hair Accessories to order was the hard part. I’m not a big fan of trying to match my hair accessories to my hair color. Let’s face it…unless your hair is black or dark brown…it’s just going to look like a poor attempt at matching your hair accessory and your hair color. It’s not that big of a deal to me. My hair is highlighted blonde and I have always used Goody Hair Elastics in black!

I went with the two pack that includes two different colored hair accessories. One is black(Onyx) and one is a taupe light brown(Milk Chocolate). That way if I like one more than the other I’ll be satisfied either way!

Here’s what I got:

pony-o-hair-accessories

My order included:

  • 1 Onyx Pony-O Hair Accessory
  • 1 Milk Chocolate Pony-O Hair Accessory
  • 1 Pony-O Storage Bag (surprise!)
  • 1 Pony-O How-to Card with two different looks to try
pony-o-hair-accessories-instructions

Pony-O Basic Instructions

pony-o-butterfly-style-instructions

Pony-O Butterfly Style Instructions


By now you’re probably ready for my ponytail before and after photos! So far, I LOVE this ponytail holder and I hope it lasts as long as they say it does. The only drawback is that I can’t wear it around my wrist, but at this point I probably need to break myself of that habit.

pony-o-before-after

Goody Elastics vs. Pony-O

I will admit…my first attempt at using the Pony-O Hair Accessories was difficult and it didn’t work out the first time. I’d glanced at the instructions, but I’m a hairstylist, so I figured that having the basic idea was enough. I was wrong…you should definitely follow their tips for best use!


Pony-O Hair Accessories are available in these colors:

  • Onyx
  • Sable
  • Dark Chocolate
  • Milk Chocolate
  • Ginger
  • Sandy Beach
  • Champagne Blonde
  • White

Pony-O Hair Accessories also have these to try:

  • Designer Pony-O
  • Bling Ringz
  • Bun Barz (I’m trying this one next!)

If you want one for yourself just go to the Pony-O Hair Accessories website and you’ll be upgrading your ponytail in no time! They offer a 2-pack in all colors as well as a combination of colors for $19.95, but if you like to wear your hair in a bun…they also have a combo back that includes a Bun Bar for $19.95.

I probably would have ordered the combo pack with the Bun Bar if I hadn’t been so indecisive on which color to get, but I’m not totally sold on their Bling Ringz(just because it looks like a ponytail holder covering another ponytail holder…maybe they will improve that product in the future).

Have you tried any of the Pony-O Hair Accessories? If so, please share your thoughts in the comment section! I’d love to hear what you think and I’m sure everyone else will too!





About The Author

Erika

Professional Hairstylist | American Board Certified Haircolorist | Makeup Artist | Beauty Blogger

54 Responses to Pony-O Hair Accessories

  1. Disappointed Thick Hair Girl says:

    Girls with thick hair, beware!

    I was impressed with the concept and was so excited to try out the variations of Pony-O / 2.0 / XL and Bun Barz that I ordered ~$40 worth of products with $7 of shipping cost. It is unfortunate to say that I was hugely disappointed – both with the products and the (lack of) service provided. I followed the purchase recommendation on Pony-O’s website along with every instruction that came in my package as well as online tutorials, but the products just could not hold my hair together. I have thick hair that is no larger than the size of a golf ball when gathered (benchmark recommended on Pony-O’s website for picking out size). But regardless of the size of Pony-O I try or how hard I “squeeze” (again as instructed), my ponytail would sag with all my hair falling seriously out of place within just the half hour – even simply sitting around without being in activities that required much head movements. This situation applied to both high- and mid-position pony tails I attempted. And the advertised claim of Pony-O’s not leaving marks in one’s hair is simply not true.

    The Bun Barz on the other hand is also difficult to manipulate in the sense that the ends of the bar wouldn’t “close” properly to hold my bun into a neat and perfectly round “loop”. Instead, there would always be a hole at the bottom of my bun because the ends of the bar couldn’t be sealed together. And with the Pony-O / Pony2.0 wrapped inside the Bun Barz falling loose every minute, my bun just kept turning into a saggy mess of hair on the lower back of my head.

    The worst thing was when I attempted to reach out to Pony-O’s customer service to address the issues, my inquiry was ignored!

    • JL says:

      By the way there is no place on Ponyo.com to leave a customer review, so I am not sure how Pony-O obtained and selected the 5-star reviews displayed on its website.

  2. Leila says:

    I ordered mine and received it about a week ago. I have a long curly and heavy mohawk and Im very happy with the purchase so far. They hold long and steady even through the night, a bit worried they will wear off with time but regular hair ties are much worse. At least I dont have to mess with it to keep it steady through the day. The bun bar was for my mother who has thinner shorted hair and she feels its the same as usual bun donuts

  3. Brandi Schoch says:

    I loved these. Unfortunately I can’t promote the company because I was never sent what I paid for. I think I have them over a year to get t it right and even after 6 months of it getting a refund or the items I ordered. I was still polite. As they kept telling me that my order would be fulfilled. I give up now. Love the pony-o but a shady company I can’t endorse. I hope the dupes are semi-decent

  4. Jezzy Wolfe says:

    I ordered some Pony Os from their website, as I read articles citing the differences between the originals and the knockoffs…not to mention I have a friend that uses them and is able to use them while jogging. So I took a chance.

    The first time I tried one, it didn’t work, but I was just doing what I saw in the commercials. When I followed the brochure closely, they held. I havent had as much luck with the bunz bars, because the ends are so floppy, I think, but I love the idea.

    The bling ringz were the nicest surprise, for me. I wasn’t expecting much, other than a way to dress the bands up a bit. But I found that some of them provided extra tension to some of my Pony-Os when they weren’t feeling quite as secure. The magnetic clasps are pretty impressive.

    One of the main reasons I wanted to try them is because my hair is prone to breakage, and not a single elastic I have tried has ever come out of my hair without taking some with it. I wanted a way to pull my hair up without constantly ripping it out. The Pony-Os do not tangle my hair or snag it, and my hair is easy to comb through after removing them. It’s a MUCH gentler alternative to any other ponytail holder I’ve tried.

    I know everyone’s experiences are different. For me, personally, these have been one of the best finds for the health of my hair, and I will be ordering more.

  5. Phoebe says:

    This product was a complete disappointment. I bought both sizes to try to see if at least one of them held up to their advertisement and it was a flop. I had to pay for shipping for it to get to me with excitement and expectation that it will live up to what they say it does. The fact that they expect the customer to pay for the shipping back to them says a lot about their company. They integrity doesn’t match up.

  6. Raq says:

    Your hair literally looks at best no difference, at worst even more floppy than the first ponytail. What is better about this?

    • Erika says:

      I am not trying to promote this product…nor was I asked or paid to do so.

      I was just curious about it, so I ordered it and did a review so that others could see what it’s all about. The photos are not meant to show you why the product is better or not- they are meant to show you what the product does in real life rather that how it is portrayed in the companies advertisements.

  7. Susan says:

    I bought the regular size, thicker size, and bun bar. They hold up pretty well, except for swimming, and then they slide off pretty quickly. I bought them for my daughters who like them as they don’t tear their hair like elasticized pony holders. I’ve used mine for several months, and they are still intact. I found they work best when after flattening, I move the hair from the side that I bend, then do the same on the other side, so the hair is bunched in the middle and the 2 ends are folded securely.

  8. LF says:

    I impulse bought some Pony-O authentic products. They took about a month to arrive (during the pandemic). My go-to item for a ponytail is a scrunchy. I like the look of the Pony-O, but to me, it feels heavy, like it is pressing on my head.
    I also bought a bun barz, but I can’t get it to work right.
    Does anyone else feel like it (Pony-O) weighs too much?

    • Cheryl says:

      I thought the price of the Pony-O was too expensive,so,I put it on my Christmas list. I did receive one-do not like it at all,and I agree it is too heavy on my head. My hair is very,very silky,no body and very,very fine! So glad I did not waste my money on it! Very very disappointed!

  9. Kim says:

    I gave this company an opportunity to make things right but, they risked a bad review for $3! So here’s the review;
    Received bands, they do not hold in place. Actually they do for about 10 minutes ONLY if I’m inactive! Any activity and my hair falls immediately. I have a head full of fine hair so I only wore while outside when it got hotter, months after I received it. I did the recommended bend in different spots YET the metal material inside busted through. I can’t attest to the non damage side, but I can’t attest to the fact that it does NOT stay put. Then the topper was the customer service experience below;

    May 30 – notified via email with image of broken pony O band.
    May 31 – rep responded and asked for an image of the pony O logo inside the band and said I could pay $3 to get a new one. Replied with image that day. I said I didn’t know about paying more for something that isn’t working.
    June 7 – No response, I had to follow up.
    June 8 – A different rep responded that I’d receive a shipping invoice within 24 hours.
    July 1 – No invoice, no update, no replacement. Once again followed up.
    July 1 – Original rep responded that I can pay $3 to pay shipping for replacement.

    No way am I wasting more money!

  10. Karen LaCoste says:

    Just got mine yesterday, holding great so far. Love the bling thing too. I have thick, wavy hair past my shoulders. I think I bought the classic, not the xl. Was going to order more and maybe the bun bar but after reading all the reviews that they broke after a few months I think I will hold off for now to make sure it lasts, if it does I will definitely order more.

  11. K Crumbley says:

    Not a good experience. Don’t waste your time or money.
    Will not hold thin hair regardless of following the directions.
    Poor customer service.
    Great idea, just not for me.

  12. OzarkLdy says:

    The poor customer service mentioned over and over is enough to make it a no go for me. Generally my rule for anything for sake on Facebook. Still occasionally something tempts me so I Google it. It’s a shame the designer &/or owner don’t spend as much time addressing problems & customer service issues as they do responding to negative feedback claiming they will resolve any issue. They’d actually have a good product and happy customers. Thank you for saving me from myself with your review thread!

    • Erika says:

      My personal experience wasn’t as bad as what others have shared on this page. The photos in this post are from when I used the product as instructed, but I didn’t think to take photos after wearing it for several hours(it didn’t hold as expected).

      Now I wear it over a regular Goody hair tie for a more styled look(and it keeps my ponytail in place for a tighter hold without having to double up on hair ties). I’m not defending them, but as a hairstylist I just found a way to make it work for me because I spent $20 on it.

      I just bought an Invisibobble Bun Star to try…review soon!

  13. Trinity Johnson says:

    Where do they ship from? In the USA?

  14. Rebekah says:

    I have loved my pony-o but have only had this product for less than 4 months and it’s already broken and doesn’t hold as well anymore. I would love to purchase again but I can’t even find any warranty information on their website. And with the cost of getting this product in Australian dollars, I unfortunately won’t be buying this again.

    • Erika says:

      I found that it works better(long-term) if you keep the “bendy” part of the Pony-O in the same place every time you use it. Unfortunately, I learned this the hard way so one of mine doesn’t work as well and has an odd shape.

      I hope that they have taken the feedback to heart and will improve their product. I think it’s a great concept, but the design needs some tweaking.

  15. Lisa says:

    Thank you! This post just saved me from ordering.

  16. Meg says:

    I’m hoping this product lasts because unlike other reviewers I am having great success with the Pony-O. The first time I used it I placed it and in my hair about 8am and it stayed perfectly snug until 9pm. I didn’t even have my usual side head flyaways even after driving with the car windows rolled down a bit. I’ve never had a scrunchie, band or barrette stay in all day without several redos. Bought a couple plus a Bling Ringz so I’m hopeful they last a long time with proper care.

    • Erika says:

      I had a positive experience as well! I use it by itself, or to cover a regular ponytail holder and give my ponytail more volume.

    • Martha says:

      I ordered these in early May and am awaiting their arrival. Prior to ordering, I did read, in several places, that someone was selling knockoffs which broke easily and wasn’t standing behind them. If I remember correctly, the knockoffs were on Amazon, so I ordered mine directly from the Pony-O website. Hoping for the best.

  17. Ashley says:

    I have both the regular pony o , slimmer
    Pony , bun bar and bling ring . While I like the regular pony it’s not something I would run out and buy all the time as I feel like it doesn’t make a huge difference in my pony’s . I like their bling rings but think some of them could be made a little bit better to fit more snug around the pony and to hide the pony o better . My only regret with the purchase was the bun bar . I feel like they would only work for people who have super long hair and If you didn’t have layers or very few layers in your hair . I have found that my little bun maker tool from amazon which is also cheaper does a way better job and makes it more secure and clean looking also with out any bobby pins. My problem with the bun bars is the ends always stick out and never want to lay flat when you try to close them up , it also goes into a weird oval type shape instead of round how a bun should . Because of this I can never get my hair all around them and I’m stuck with this weird shaped bun and huge gap in the back. I am also applying it how they say to and demonstrate in their videos and still no luck. My amazon bun maker doesn’t do that at all . I also find there fb page to be kind of shady since they don’t really let people leave honest reviews or try to seem and shut down the negative reviews and that also made me hesitant from purchasing from time in the first place . When I want I bun I find myself reaching for my amazon one and not my pony o one so the pony o bun barz are just collecting dust lol. IMO pass on the pony o bun barz and try one of the bun bar maker things from amazon they look almost the same but I find they work so much better , are cheaper and easier to work with .

    • Erika says:

      Yes, I agree! Initially, I really liked it. Now I use it with a regular ponytail holder to style my ponytail. I think they should have done more testing before rushing to market because they’ve ruined their reputation….and that’s just based on the feedback on this post, but there are a lot of people that feel the same way.

  18. Kayla says:

    I’m seeing a lot of negative comments from women with very thick, long, heavy hair. I don’t think this product is intended for you. They market it as a product that can make your ponytail look fuller and thicker. Yours is already full and thick. I feel like this is intended for people like me with thin, fine hair that looks absurdly small in a ponytail.

    • Erika says:

      That’s a good point! I didn’t think of that because I have thick hair and when I use a regular ponytail holder it kinda just hangs there. I have to use several ponytail holders to get a really good look(then it’s too tight).

      So…my solution was to use the Pony-O on top of my elastic ponytail holder and it works great. It holds my heavy ponytail up and makes it look better! I only just though of this last week…for those of you that have been following this post(I plan on sharing the update with pics in another post soon).

    • E says:

      Just because you think that’s what they’re for doesn’t negate the negative reviews. They advertise it works to provide volume and fullness for all hair types. Just because someone has thick hair doesn’t mean it has volume if anything a thin, lighter ponytail is going to stay bouncier and sit higher because it’s not as heavy as my large heavy saggy ponytail. Just saying, there’s two sides

    • Emma says:

      It’s a good point, except that they have the XL version which is literally marketed for long and thick hair. ‍♀️

  19. I purchased the two pack in May 2019. One of mine has already broken and it has only been 5 months. I reached out and they didn’t offer to replace it. They offered a 25% discount. If this is the life expectancy then I don’t think it’s worth the price you pay. Just my thoughts

    • Erika says:

      I’ve heard a lot of mixed reviews about this product, and unfortunately as time goes on….I’m getting a majority negative vibe from everyone. Hopefully the company will make it right and/or make some adjustments to their product for future consumers. Small starter companies like this one may not have the means to completely refund your money. I’m not saying it’s right, but I don’t know what their policy or “warranty” is. If the product is not guaranteed…then a discount is the most you would get. Also…I’m just guessing…but I could see where a company could argue that the average ponytail holder doesn’t last very long and that people get more “uses” out of their product than basic ponytail holders.

      Did you like it other than the fact that it broke? Just curious because a lot of people have said they don’t like the Pony-O.

  20. Melissa says:

    I don’t see what all the fuss is about. I have thick, long hair and these things absolutely DO NOT WORK! There is no way I can get it tight enough. It slips back and the hair on the side of my head is loose. Looks terrible! I ordered 3 different Pony-O products and I feel like I’ve wasted my money. Conveniently, there is no where on their site to leave a review, and no one ever answers the phone number they give for customer support. Very disappointed. All hype, no hair fix

    • Erika says:

      I’m so sorry to hear this, especially because everyone is saying the same thing! I definitely had to do some finessing to make it work right with my hair and stay put, so I know exactly how you feel…but I didn’t have a completely bad experience.

      What’s crazy is that this was a product that I saw advertised on Instagram….got curious…went to the site…and purchased the 2 pack. I thought it was cool and I wanted to share it with readers as well as see what others thought. The company didn’t contact me to write a review, and most of the time when I choose a product to share…it’s legit!

      They let me down as well 🙁

    • LORIE S says:

      MELISSA, HAD THE SAME EXPERIENCE, I ASKED FOR A REFUND AND SENT A EMAIL TO THE “INVENTOR” WHO RESPONDED, THEN AFTER THE RESPONSE ON SCHOOLING ME OF HOW TO USE, (OF WHICH I APPRECIATE GREATLY THINKING I AM JUST NOT GETTING IT, ) BUT SENDING ME THE SAME PRINTED INSTRUCTIONS AS CAME WITH THEM. I REPLIED NICELY , THANKING HER FOR THE HELP, BUT TELLING HER IT JUST WASNT WORKING FOR ME, FELT LIKE PUTTY IN MY HAIR AND NOT AT ALL BOUNCY AND WHAT NOT LIKE IN THE PHOTOS. ASKING TO SEND A RETURN LABEL, BUT ,,, NOPE, I AM TO PAY 6- 8 BUCKS, ( NO BIGGIE,) RETURN IT, AND THEN DEDUCT THE 7 BUCKS ALREADY PAID FOR SHIPPING, TO GET 14.95… HUMMMMM…NOT ONCE DID I GET ANYTHING MORE FROM HER, AND SEND A MESSAGE THANKING HER FOR THE OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE. NOW, WENT TO DO A REVIEW ON THE SITE, AND SHOCKING ENOUGH, THEY HAND PICK THE REVIEWS. SAD THAT SUCH A COOL LOOKING PRODUCT THAT I AM SURE MAY WORK FOR SOME, AND THAT YOU THE “INVENTOR” WOULD NOT TRY TO STAND BEHIND YOUR PRODUCT AND REPLY TO SOMEONE CLEARLY UNHAPPY…. PART OF GROWING PAINS IN BUSINESS, BUT STANDING BEHIND YOUR STUFF IS GOLDEN IN BUSINESS, ALONG WITH GOOD AND BAD REVIEWS, AT LEAST YOUR CUSTOMERS CAN HAND PICK THEIR OWN DECISIONS. EVEN AMAZON LETS GOOD AND BAD…..

      • Erika says:

        You’re the second person to comment about their review filtering. I would hope that they would welcome the feedback and make changes to their product.

    • Jill says:

      My hair is thick & long, heavy & with almost no texture. After looking at pics of people wearing Pony-Os, I assume they will work better in thinner hair. I ordered a “knock-off” one but it came with Pony-O branded literature & looks EXACTLY like the name brand one. It is a joke. I have tried so many times during this week to make it work for me but it just won’t hold correctly, & now the inner metal has already snapped. It was hard enough to get my thick hair through the O to begin, and there is almost no band leftover to bend to the side. The Pony-O company advertised that if you’ve bought a knockoff, to contact them & they will “make it right.” So I did. They asked me to leave a negative review on the other company’s site, giving them the lowest possible rating, & told me the exact words they wanted me to say. Now they’re sending me a free Pony-O & want my feedback (privately, which makes me question them). We’ll see how it goes when it arrives. But I feel guilty about being used to negatively rate the competitor. I’m thinking of taking down my review. I knew I was risking my money (much less than Pony-O charges, & I bet they are identical products!).

  21. Major disappointment. I’m close to calling Pony-O a scam. A secure Goody elastic will work better.

  22. Yvette says:

    I was so excited to use my product when it arrived however it droops after a while, also its so hard to place without lumps and bumps. My hubby asked why I had used a pipe to put my hair up ;( I definitely have not been impressed with this item therefore I’m on selling it as I have no use for it. Maybe it’s just me I’m not good with hair who knows lol

  23. Shalamar says:

    Does it work with wet hair or does it have to be dry?

    • Erika says:

      I haven’t tried it, but I think if your hair is wet it would work best with medium to coarse textures of hair. If your hair is fine and/or thin it may not hold at all when wet.

  24. Nicole says:

    Really stuck on deciding to buy this or not!! I have thick long hair! They have come out with a pony o 2.0(skinnier) and a XL pony o in both styles as well.
    Would you be willing to waste more money and try these new variations and the bun barz!!!? I’m dying to see reviews for the new updates and no one has yet 🙁

  25. Heiress helen says:

    I received my pony-o ahead of schedule which was great. I have curly very long hair and the ponytail does not stay up it droops even after following the instructions. I could have purchased many other accessories at the price that we know work. Disappointed

    • Erika says:

      I’m so sorry to hear that! Have you found something that does work for you?

      I found that it holds when i bend it with the hair bunched towards the center rather than more spread throughout the pony-o like the directions indicate. That just didn’t work for me.

      If your hair is super thick then you might have too much of it to get good results…I’m sure if you contact the company they will do something for you!

    • Gina says:

      I’m dissapointed but not surprised. 😀 Yes, its less likely to fall off like a normal hair tie but if you have super straight, thick, long, heavy hair like me, there is no visual difference with the pony-o than any other regular hair tie

  26. Disppointedpony says:

    My experience was horrible. For me they did not work at all like expected. I have very thick, heavy hair so finding things to keep it up securely is always an issue. My pony tail started at the top and worked its way down in just a couple hours. I followed the instruction and tried it multiple days but it just did not work. The rubber coating pulled on my hair causing some breakage. I was disappointed. Since there is no place (conveniently) to leave a review on their website or FB page I sent an email. The response I received was rude and condescending. The “inventor” basically implied I was an idiot and wasn’t using them properly. I will not be ordering more and do not recmmend for those with super thick heavy hair.

  27. Pratishtha says:

    The combo pack in $20 sounds like a deal. Great Post.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.